Tuesday, October 27, 2009

LTSP Presents Student Achievement Awards

Awards for student achievement were presented during the October 27 convocation at The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia (LTSP) by Dean J. Paul Rajashekar.

The Paul J. Hoh/Elizabeth Reese Award recognizes achievement, dedication, and contribution to this institution and is given annually to students, who are Lutheran, one student from the second year class and one student from the final year class. The Auxiliary of the Seminary has made this award possible. It serves to advance scholarship and ministry and also seeks to honor the memory of the Rev. Dr. Paul J. Hoh, a much-revered and respected former President of this institution. The award was given to second year student Brett Meredith Wilson (below left with Dean Rajashekar) and final year student Steven Tousley Wilco (below right).

The Traci L. Maul Award is given annually in memory of Traci Maul, a beloved graduate of the class of 1995. This is a special honor given to a student who exemplifies qualities of Traci - outstanding leadership potential for ministry, active contribution to seminary community life, and academic strength. This award was given to Christine Jane Stratton (below with Dean Rajashekar) .

The Karl Elser Wurster Memorial Award is made according to faculty selection and is given to a student of the second year class, who demonstrates academic merit, promise of ministry and exhibits financial need. This award was given to Yvonne Jones Pettice Lembo (below with Dean Rajashekar).

No comments: