Tuesday, March 20, 2012

LTSP Hosting Let it SHINE! - African American Lutheran History Day on Saturday, May 26

You are invited to a delightful afternoon of fellowship and celebration honoring two American legacies: Black Lutherans and Henry Melchior Muhlenberg. Enjoy a delicious catered luncheon, inspiring keynote presentation by The Rev. Dr. James K. Echols, Premiere Screening of the Grover and Irma Wright video, and uplifting Candlelight Jazz Concert, remembering our ancestors who have gone before us. Let it SHINE! is scheduled for Saturday, May 26, 2012 from 11:30am – 3:30pm (Memorial Day Weekend) on the campus of The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia (LTSP), 7301 Germantown Avenue in the Mt. Airy section of Philadelphia.

Keynote speaker The Rev. Dr. James K. Echols was the first African American to serve as president of a North American Lutheran seminary, serving in that capacity at the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago (LSTC) from 1997 to 2011. He was academic dean at LTSP from 1991-1997. He joined the LTSP faculty in 1982, teaching American Church History. A native of Philadelphia, Dr. Echols received a BA from Temple University and an MDiv from LTSP. He continued his studies at Yale University, where he received his MA, MPhil, and PhD in the history of Christianity.

Dr. Echols has been a leader in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) and in the wider community, serving on the board of the ELCA Division for Ministry, the executive committee of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada, and the steering committee of the USA Section of the Council of International Black Lutherans. He is the editor of I Have a Dream: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Future of Multicultural America (Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2004).

Seating is limited! Register Early! Tickets – $50 each, Table of 8 – $400. Table includes program tribute and 10 Grover Wright DVDs.

To register go to Ltsp.edu/letitshine or contact Yvonne Lembo, LTSP Office for Philanthropy, 215.248.6318 or ylembo@Ltsp.edu.

Proceeds benefit the Dr. Grover C. and Irma S. Wright Scholarship Fund.

No comments: