Monday, May 05, 2014

The Rev. Dr. David J. Lose recommended as next president of LTSP

Dear Members of the LTSP Community,

On behalf of The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia (LTSP) Presidential Search Committee, I am pleased to offer the following update.

The committee was gratified by the excellent candidates who indicated interest in the position and were willing to engage in mutual discernment. Twenty-three nominations were submitted, and seventeen applications were received. An initial interview was conducted with eight candidates. A second interview took place with four candidates. The four finalists were diverse in terms of professional and academic degrees, gender, denominational affiliation, and clergy/lay. In each interview, candidates demonstrated theological acumen, a passion for theological education, and a profound love for the church.

Dr. David Lose After prayer and conversation, the committee chose to recommend the Rev. Dr. David J. Lose to the Board of Trustees for consideration as the next president of LTSP.

Dr. Lose is currently the Marbury Anderson Associate Professor of Biblical Preaching at Luther Seminary in St. Paul, MN. Both his MDiv and STM were earned at LTSP. His curriculum vitae is attached.

Among Dr. Lose's many skills are strategic planning and relationship building. He demonstrates an entrepreneurial gift, having founded the Center for Biblical Preaching, including His analysis of the intersection of the culture and the church, and his interest in exploring new models for congregational leadership in the twenty-first century are important elements in exploring new opportunities for theological education. The committee viewed Dr. Lose as a leader with the capability to successfully guide the seminary into the future our gracious God sets before us.
I am personally grateful for the work of the committee, and their dedication and commitment. Members included:
  • The Rev. Cheryl Meinschein, Dr. Addie Butler, the Rev. Charles Miller, and the Rev. Harry McDowell, Board of Trustees;
  • Bishop Claire Burkat, Southeastern Pennsylvania Synod;
  • Dr. J. Paul Rajashekar and Dr. Storm Swain, faculty members;
  • Dr. Quintin Robertson, staff member;
  • Dan Purtell, student;
  • The Rev. Jonathan Strandjord, ELCA representative;
  • Maria Fumai Dietrich, alumna;
  • Dr. Richard Carlson, Eastern Cluster representative
The schedule for Dr. Lose's visit is as follows:
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
11:15 am
Discussion with Faculty (over lunch) Robert F. Blanck Board Room
2:30 pm Discussion with Staff Brossman 201
4:00 pm Discussion with Alumni Brossman 201
6:00 pm Chapel (Dr. Lose preaching, all are welcome!)
Schaeffer-Ashmead Chapel
6:30 pm Student Meet and Greet
(evening classes delayed until 7:30 pm)
Schaeffer-Ashmead Chapel
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
9:00 am Discussion with Executive Cabinet Heinecken Room, Brossman 304
11:30 am Eucharist (Dr. Lose preaching, all are welcome!) Schaeffer-Ashmead Chapel
12:45 pm Discussion with Students (students can bring a brown bag lunch or purchase lunch as part of the community meal) Benbow B and C
3:00 pm Meeting with Board of Trustees Robert F. Blanck Board Room

Ephesians 3:20-21
20 Now to the One who by the power at work within us is able to accomplish abundantly far more than all we can ask or imagine,21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

In God's Peace,
The Rev. Dr. John Richter signature
John Richter
Chair, Presidential Search Committee

No comments: